Permission to speak

January 9, 2007 Ace Albion

“It says modify allowed on the box but when I click buy it says no modify. What’s up with that?”

I’ve been asked this, or something like it, at least three times this week so far. So I explain that there are scripts in the houses which are no-mod, and content/inventory permissions usually show the most restrictive collection of permissions in the object and its contents. In this case, no-modify scripts cause an object to show (no modify). I get this too- my own house pieces, made by me, show (no modify) the moment I put a rez-faux positioner script in. They’re still my prims and I can still edit/delete/retexture/change contents etc.

I even put up a great big explanation board by my house rezzer, but I still got IMed this question by someone stood right there, so I don’t know what the answer is.

So why does this bother me? I don’t mind answering the question, and if I ever did accidentally package something with the wrong permissions I’d certainly fix it and get it to everyone ASAP. What bothers me is- for every person who IMs me to ask about this (and I know myself I almost never IM a retailer about these things, I’m too shy), how many others silently marked me as a scamming moneygrabber in their mind and TP’d away, all because of how permissions are tagged?

Grr!

Entry Filed under: My Second Life

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. parker&hellip  | 

    it’s quite annoying that you can’t change an object name in your inventory if it has a no-mod script in it. it should be able to tell if i have mod rights to the object itself.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Recent Comments

    Nicky Ree on Blog Move!
    Ace Albion on Simplicity
    Mike on Simplicity
    rand on FREE UPDATES
    Ace Albion on FREE UPDATES
  • Categories

  •  
